Named after a Scottish cleric and immigrant, Rev Colin Fraser, and a certain church elder, Meyburg, Fraserburg was founded in the West Nuweveld in 1851.
In 1870 the first attorney, HWA Cooper began writing the culturally important ‘Boerebrieven’ for Het Volksblad. He wrote under the assumed name of Samuel Zwaartman.
15 Schalkwyk Street. Partial remains of a wall, built in 1870, as protection during a possible war with the Koranna. Used during the Anglo-Boer War.
Unique to the area.
The rocks exposed here were originally deposited some 250 million years ago. On the farm Riethuisies there is a distinct trace fossil of a gastropod and the same trace fossil was found recently in Antartica, of great importance for Palaeontologists. For visits tel 023 571 1265
Built in 1856 for the Rev CA Bamberger, the first minister to the newly established congregation, at a cost of £1 100. It has a unique floor plan as four of the interior walls are curved. The building contract specified that 100 planks of yellowwood should be used. Presently the building houses a museum collection and an exhibition of fossils.
The six-sided structure, unique in South Africa, has become the symbol of Fraserburg. It was built by Adam Jacobs in 1861. The bell was rung whenever fire broke out, as well as an evening curfew rung at nine pm when all coloureds were expected to be out of the town. Even after the curfew was no longer required, the bell continued to be rung at this time until the 1950s.
Erected by John Findlay in 1870, to store ammunition in case war should break out with the Korannas under leadership of Kupido Pofadder, to limit danger from fire. It was also used by the British troops during the Anglo-Boer War.
2 Voortrekker Street. The town obtained its first direct current in 1938. During September 1956 this was converted to alternating current, and on 24 June 1983 Fraserburg received its first Eskom power. Seven Lister Blackstone engines may still be seen.
A map can be purchased at the local museum in Fraserburg.