Once part of the Graaff-Reinet district and known as Bo-Zeekoeirivier. As the farming community grew, a community centre was needed and, in 1854, the 8 656ha farm, Petrusvallei, was bought for 33 333 Rixdollars (R5 000). The former owner asked that the proposed town be called Hanover as his ancestors came from the German city. Walk through town and discover old furrows and historic buildings.
This national monument was built in 1895 and is still in use.
Experience a different kind of art.
Memorial to those who died in WWII.
Housed in the farm house around which the town developed. The museum in Viljoen Street contains artifacts dating back to pioneer days.
in Zeekoei River, for more information contact Tel no 053 643 0020.
Grace Str. The famous author lived here during the Anglo-Boer War.
Emthanjeni Municipality Tel 053 632 9100 or 053 631 4176