Said to have been named after a Jewish travelling salesman named Lurie or alternatively it could be named after the Loerie bird (Turacu corythaix).
Originally the farm Phizantefontein, Loxton was bought from AE Loxton by the Dutch Reformed Church in 1899. Built to serve the sheep-farming community, it became a municipality in 1905. In March 1961, three-quarters
Established in 1903 by the Dutch Reformed Church, Marydale was named after the wife of Mr GP Snyman, owner of the farm on which the town was laid out.
A pristine southern Kalahari wilderness area with dunes averaging 35m in height - breathtaking scenery you’ll never forget. The municipal area of Mier includes the communities of Rietfontein, Philandersbron, L
North of Springbok, Nababeep’s name combines two Nama words, naba, meaning ‘hump of an animal’ and bib, meaning ‘small spring’. Mining began in the 1850s and, from 1876, ore was taken to
Between 1700-1740, clashes between trekboers and indigenous people led trekboers to move to the top of the Bokveld escarpment. The town came into being in the late 1800s. On the
In 1881 the railway line from Port Elizabeth ended on the farm Carlton. With the diversion of the railway line to Colesberg in 1883/4 a station was built on part of the
Derived from the Nama word ‘U-gieb’, meaning ‘the great, brackish spring’, Okiep was, until production ceased in 1918, the world’s richest copper mine. Okiep is the oldest mining town in South Afr
The only town lying at the foot of the Langeberg, Olifantshoek is a farming town close to two game ranches on the Namakwari Route. Founded in 1895, the village is called
Farmers, realising the value of irrigating the area, bought 12 000ha of land from Edwells in 1916. In the same year, 63 plots were surveyed and taken up. A 10km canal serving 70 families