Communities of Xhosa moved up to the Orange River as early as 1795. One group subsequently settled at Schietfontein, which was served by a Rhenish mission, and a village named Harmsfontein was established in 1860.
In 1874, it changed its name to honour the British Colonial Secretary, Lord Carnarvon. The district is well-known for its corbelled houses, built between 1811 and 1815. Carnarvon is set among flat-topped hills and is one of the region’s busiest farming centres.
|Ou Kraal Travel Centre|
|Phone:||+27 (0)53 382 3029 / +27 (0)83 230 8412|
A large collection of beer cans and whiskies can be seen at the Carnarvon Hotel.
A donkey and man combine forces to produce bricks.
Small domed roofed houses built of flat stones for lack of wood for roof trusses by the Trekboers. The cement was a mixture of chaff and soil mixed with water and kneaded to the correct texture. Floors were of smeared earth coloured a rich red by a mixture of fat and oxblood polished with a smooth stone.
On top of Carnarvon Koppie and used between 1899-1902, the only one in the region.
Museum & Corbelled House
Old Church Hall.
A wide variety of wildlife can be seen. Tel 053 382 3012.
60 Mountain tortoises can be found here. Some respond to their name and will come for a titbit when called. Tel 0533822 ask for 3002.
Tours and Crafts at Oukraal
Unique handmade local Karoo crafts. Tours: Anglo-Boer War tours, 4×4 and 4×2 self-drive tours and marked farm trails. Tel 053 382 3029.